The Return: Derrick Rose

Thank you Derrick Rose for coming out of hibernation (not literally). Derrick Rose is a favored player around the league and the country. Rose is my second favorite point guard in the NBA, (#1 Rajon Rondo, I will have a review on his return). He is dangerous in the front court, he’ll blow by you easily, and he can shoot the ball efficiently. Derrick is the best point guard that is blazing fast, can shoot the ball, and can attack the rim. Rose had 13 points in his return against the Indiana Pacers, the majority were of transition buckets in the open floor. He played a good 20 minutes and 26 seconds. From most coaches’ point of view you don’t want to tire out your stars or play them a lot for a risk of injury in the preseason. If Rose wasn’t injured I would’ve played him 13 to 18 minutes. Since he missed out on a season of playing high competition basketball, that was a good amount. I watched him turn the ball over a few times, but he’s rusty, so who can blame him. I also saw him miss two free throws in a row because he rushed them. Even though he has  an ACL tear in his left knee, he jumped off of his left foot to get a dunk. Anyway, I look forward to the Eastern Conference Finals rematch against the Miami Heat from 2011. I’m going for the Bulls, hope Derrick has a spectacular season!

Leave a comment